Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 30th, 2011

Reacquainted

I spent this weekend getting reacquainted with both my spinning wheel and my sewing machine. I’m going to spend some time tonight researching how to photograph yarn as none of the shots I took today of what I spun actually came out.

My spinning wheel has been sitting in the corner collecting dust since November and it felt good to finish up the merino/silk blend that was on there. The wool came from Amy at Spunky Eclectic and the colorway is Eclectic Jam. I spun it really thin, then Navajo plied it to keep chunks of color and to make it stronger. I am planning on knitting a pair of socks with this.

Eclectic Jam merino/silk blend

I had been thinking of various bag ideas for hauling around my netbook when I stumbled across the book Pretty Little Presents from Lark Books at the public library. I now have it on my list of books I want to own. Every pattern in it is enchanting. Particularly the Hello, Doll Faces pattern. It inspired me to stop thinking about a case for my netbook and actually design one.

Pretty Little Presents

Hello, Doll Faces

The exterior fabric I found recently at St. Vincent de Paul’s for a buck. The interior fabric I bought about two years ago on sale at the Sewing Corral downtown. It was very simple to put together and the little doll I sewed up at church while listening to Pastor Bill’s sermon. I am excited to take it out for a spin!

Doll Face Netbook Case

Hello there!

Coordinated

Happy

Read Full Post »